Brit Awards 2012 – how I did

Yesterday I blogged my predictions for the Brits with who I thought should win from the list of nominees (except the producer award). Here’s how I did:

British Male Solo Artist

should win: Ed Sheeran

prediction: Ed Sheeran

did win: Ed Sheeran

woo clean sweep!

British Female Solo Artist

should win: Adele

prediction: Adele

did win: Adele (obviously)

and again!

British Breakthrough Act

should win: Jessie J

prediction: Jessie J

did win: Ed Sheeran

surprise one here

British Group

should win: Chase & Status

prediction: Coldplay

did win: Coldplay

as suspected, the award went to the family friendly rockers. Chase & Status had no chance with it being voted for my Radio 2 listeners, which I’d forgotten/not realised

British Single

should win: Ed Sheeran

prediction: Adele (obviously, I thought)

did win: One Direction

I think this one surprised a lot of people. Lyrics like “The way that you flip your hair gets me overwhelmed” will go down in history

MasterCard British Album of the Year

should win: PJ Harvey

prediction: Adele

did win: Adele

no shock here

International Male Solo Artist

should win: Aloe Blacc

prediction: Bruno Mars

did win: Bruno Mars

Mars’ hair was out of this world

International Female Solo Artist

should win: Beyoncé

prediction: Rihanna

did win: Rihanna

and she showed why she’s had so many hits with the catchy “We Found Love” and a typically ‘saucy’ dance to go with it

International Group

should win: Jay Z/Kanye West

prediction: Jay Z/Kanye West

did win: Foo Fighters

a bad night for anything very electronic

International Breakthrough Act

should win: Foster the People

prediction: Nicki Minaj

did win: Lana Del Rey

should of seen this one coming. The Lana hype machine goes on

Overall:

predictions: 6/10

‘should’ve won’: 2/10!

I don’t think I fared too badly, although the Brits are about as unpredictable as North Korea’s ‘Great Leader’ award ceremony would be. And I’m pleased I wasn’t too far off NME’s predictions.

Please leave a comment!

